No review this week, but FAIRY TAIL IS BACK!

Hello to the small (albeit growing) number of people who are following me!

I didn’t get a review written this week, sorry 😦 I was too busy re-watching episodes of Fairy Tail before it returned on Saturday, and since then, I’ve been very busy and have had a couple of internet issues. But next week, I shall have my review of the first series of Code Geass done! (And hopefully my review on the second season will be finished as well? We’ll have to wait and see). I’m slowly catching up to the anime I’m currently watching… 20 or so anime to review and I’m there. So sit tight, more reviews are on the way 🙂

Fairy Tail

Turning now to my reaction to episode 176 of Fairy Tail (this section may contain spoilers so read at your own risk!). First, a celebration; FAIRY TAIL IS BACK! YES! I’VE BEEN WAITING SO LONG FOR THIS! (I obviously don’t read the manga).

I was a little unsure about the new art when I first saw the character designs… Erza and Lucy’s hair seemed a lot more flat and their face changes were a little strange. But having watched the episode, I have to admit that it’s not really that bad… in fact, I hardly noticed. Except Gajeel… what are you wearing, man? (I feel Levy should be responsible for dressing him in decent clothes). All in all, it’s not as strange as I thought it would be. Except, is Wendy’s magic green now?

The preview of the future that we got at the start of the episode (and annoyingly, repeated at the end) was a little daunting… as I said, I don’t read the manga, so please no spoilers! A little nervous about what’s to come, but I’ve so far resisted the temptation of looking it up, so I shall wait patiently for the next episode weekly.

But Lector! Oh no! Can’t say I particularly liked the cat, but having him vaporised seemed a little too harsh. If he’s actually dead, that is. This is shounen after all. Although it looked like Sting blasted a hole through his Master in return? Ouch.

I have to say that Wendy’s Milky Way seemed a little to convenient, but that’s probably only because there’s been such a long break between episodes. I’m sure in the manga it felt a bit more natural, and not just “Oh, we need something we can use here to move the episode along”. Gotta admit though, I loved that ghost to bits. I also particularly liked Lucy’s “sass” pose when talking to it…

Lucy's pose

Oh well, sorry it’s not much, but that’s it from me this week! Hopefully I didn’t jump all over the place too much, or that it at least made sense.

Got any opinions on Fairy Tail’s new art or episode 176? Love to hear them 🙂

-S

Leave a Reply

