[30 Day Anime Challenge] Day One: Very first anime

Like most westerners growing up in the 90s, I was first exposed to anime when some of the big shounen anime were  dubbed and released on children’s TV. My particular poison was One Piece, yes- the 4Kids dub. So I watched as Luffy sailed the seas with ‘Zolo’ and lolly-pop addict Sanji, and where Navy soldiers fought with water pistols. But at the time I didn’t care- I was captivated with the bright colours, the fun adventure, and the admittedly catchy opening. I didn’t revisit anime until many years later, when a friend finally convinced me to give these two ‘Fullmetal Alchemist’ anime a try, but almost immediately after finishing them, I looked for One Piece to revisit my youth. Naturally, I found a lot of differences, but I still love the series just the same. I’m slowly working my way through the (almost) 700 episodes- sadly I’m only up to 381. But I will catch-up one day!

-S

Oh nostalgia!

One thought on “[30 Day Anime Challenge] Day One: Very first anime

  1. Pingback: 30 Day Anime Challenge: Operation Starto! | justanotheranimefan

Leave a Reply

