[30 Day Anime Challenge] Day Twenty-Five: Saddest anime death

Spoiler TagWARNING! This post has some SERIOUS spoilers for Code Geass/Code Geass R2. Please do not read this post if you intend to watch these anime as you will be very disappointed.

 

I don’t want to get into the technicalities of whether this death is a death or not (a lot of the fan-base argue that this person is actually immortal), but even if it isn’t his actual death, it is still his death in the eyes of everyone who knew him. I’m talking, of course, about Code Geass’ Lelouch Lamperouge. Even now when I watch this scene I still tear up. It’s just such an emotional scene and such a dramatic end to the fast-paced, action-packed series. It is unexpected after everything that Lelouch fought for. Personally, the part that gets me the most is when Hitomi Kuroishi’s “Continued Story” starts playing and Nunnally starts yelling out to her brother. Although Lelouch constantly uses Nunally as both an excuse and a motivator, he never once actually asks her what she wants, and here she states it very clearly “I would’ve been happy just being with you, brother”. So sad.

-S

P.S. Happy Australia Day out there to any other Aussies. Hope your day was bogan-free 🙂

6 thoughts on “[30 Day Anime Challenge] Day Twenty-Five: Saddest anime death

  1. I didn’t feel too bad at his demise as he did some horrible things. The saddest death for me in that show was the pink haired princess when he accidentally uses the Geass on her.

    • I think everything that happened to Euphemia is really sad, but I actually don’t disagree with him killing her. Can you imagine how she’d take waking up and finding out what she had done? Sure, it wasn’t her fault, but there’s no way she could live with herself after doing that. Lelouch killing her was the less cruel option, in my opinion anyway. He took responsibilities for his actions when he shot her.

      Lelouch did some horrible things, but I don’t think it’s any worse than what any of the others were doing. Not an excuse, I know, but under the circumstances I think he did as best as he could.

    • I agree. That was the most heart-breaking death in CG. But I bawled my eyes out at Lulu’s death and couldn’t stop thinking about it for days—and kept playing the last scene over and over again.

  2. Pingback: 30 Day Anime Challenge: Operation Starto! | justanotheranimefan

Leave a Reply

