[30 Day Anime Challenge] Day Twenty-Eight: Your favourite quote from an anime

It’s another Fullmetal Alchemist: Brotherhood post. I’m sorry. I do consider all of the other anime I’ve watched, but this is probably the only quote from anime that’s stuck with me. It’s okay, I don’t mind being the weirdly-obsessed-with-FMAB blogger. In fact, I will relish that title.

I assure you that when he is not so angry and veiny, he is damn good looking.

I assure you that when he is not so angry and veiny, he is damn good looking.

Anyway, moving on, the quote is from Ling Yao, who is pretty damn awesome. In the scene, he is talking to Greed just after [SPOILERS/] Greed killed Bido, his former friend. This is actually the second incarnation of Greed, and he snaps at Ling that the memories he has of Bido and his other friends belong to the previous Greed, and have nothing to do with him. Those memories should have been purified. Ling screams at him in return[\SPOILERS];

Friends are connected by soul! You can’t just rinse off something that’s stained on your soul!

I think that there’s so much truth to this quote. I believe that if you’ve spent enough time with someone to consider them a friend, then you will always have a lasting reminder of that person in your mind. You may not be thinking of them all the time, but you will get random reminders from different things; e.g. “Oh, I’m eating a mango, I remember that time Simone and I were exploring the creek behind her house whilst eating mangoes” or “Oh look! A cheetah on TV! I remember when Timmy, Becky and I used to play animal games and Timmy would always be a cheetah”. This kind of stuff stays with you for life. Friendship is a powerful thing; it’s not something you can easily forget… it can’t be washed off your soul.

-S

2 thoughts on “[30 Day Anime Challenge] Day Twenty-Eight: Your favourite quote from an anime

  1. Pingback: 30 Day Anime Challenge: Operation Starto! | justanotheranimefan
  2. Pingback: Three Day Quotes Challenge: Day One | justanotheranimefan

Leave a Reply

