Celebrating: Jongup, Chansung, and Kim Soo Hyun

Welcome to a new segment where I celebrate some of my favourite Korean celebrities, not in order of how much I love them, but in order of birthday. All ages are international ages. -S

jongup

Jongup

Moon Jong Up, better known as simply Jongup, is the main dancer of the group B.A.P… it’s not hard to see why. He’s also known for his b-boying skills. However, Jongup has recently taken on a more vocal role, and his sweet voice is really nice to hear! When not performing, Jongup tends to be a little on the quieter side, and probably feels a little awkward in front of the cameras. Despite this, however, he seems to have some acting skills, the recent music video for the group’s song Skydive had him playing out a rather insane, sadistic role. And, worryingly, it seemed to suit him! Jokes aside, Jongup is a very interesting individual, and I’m sure he will shine as B.A.P continues to prosper. Happy 22nd birthday on February 6th!

chansung

Chansung

Our next celebrity to celebrate is the youngest member of the group 2PM, Hwang Chan Sung, known more commonly as Chansung. I personally think that Chansung is one of the more underappreciated members of 2PM, which is a real shame because he’s both a good dancer and a decent singer. Chansung is perhaps most well known for his body, which, very impressive as it is, isn’t the only thing to him. He’s recently composed a song for 2PM… that got banned on radio stations because it’s content is too raunchy (I can’t think why!), and he also holds a black belt in taekwondo. Chansung seems to be a really chilled, happy guy, and I wish him all the best for the future. I especially hope more people wake up to how awesome he is! Happy 27th birthday on February 11th!

kim-soo-hyun

Kim Soo Hyun

Onto our first actor to feature, and it’s none other than Kim Soo Hyun! Until I first watched Soo Hyun in the drama Dream High, I actually referred to him as the ‘handshake guy’. This was because I had seen this series of gifs depicting him being awkward in public, especially missing out on getting handshakes from fans. There’s just something about that expression of dejection that makes him so adorable! After watching Dream High I discovered he’s not only a phenomenal actor, he’s also a great singer. However, he still remains his adorable self off screen. I’m yet to check out Soo Hyun’s most famous drama, My Love From Another Star, but given how much I love this actor, I know it won’t be long until I get to it! Happy 29th birthday on February 16th!

Leave a Reply

