Day 3: A song that makes you laugh

This was a bit of a tricky one for me. I couldn’t think of a song that made me laugh off the top of my head. Sure I have songs that are funny, whether due to their lyrics or music video, but it’s not like I had actually laughed during the song.

But then… of course, how could I forget this song? You see, my Dad was born in 1963, but being ten years younger than the youngest of his three older brothers, grew up listening to their music. Which, in turn, meant that I grew up listening to some classic 1950s and 1960s songs. During the 1960s there was a musician known as Lonnie Donegan, the King of Skiffle, and its his song ‘My Old Man’s a Dustman’ that makes me laugh.

Combining (admittedly bad) jokes with improvised music and interaction with the audience and fellow musicians, it seems that each performance of this song is unique. The recording I have features my favourite joke; “What’s green, has six legs, and would kill you if it fell on you from out of a tree? A billiard table”. I love the confidence in Donnie’s delivery, his voice changes, and just the general catchy tune!

What song makes you laugh?

-S

 

One thought on “Day 3: A song that makes you laugh

  1. Pingback: 30 Day Song Challenge: Begin! | A Fandom of its Own

Leave a Reply

