Day 5: A song that has a new meaning to you every time you hear it

I found this one very hard to do. Honestly, I was changing between staring and a blank draft and my music library for quite a while. In fact, I’m still not sure that I really have a suitable song for today, but perhaps if I explain my reasoning, you will understand.

Stromae’s song ‘carmen’ is a song that I don’t necessarily interpret differently, but understand more and more about it whenever I hear it. Or rather, whenever I read the lyrics, since I can’t speak French. Stromae’s animation in this song is seen trying to project the perfect image of himself, particularly on social media, but we see again and again that this image isn’t the whole picture. For example, we see him posting on Twitter about celebrating his birthday party, but he’s there by himself. We also get a comment on modern life; “We care, they care, you care, and no one cares” suggests that in the modern world we are preoccupied only with ourselves, and “But I know the dangers out there, I gotta receipt if I ain’t happy” suggests how dependent we are on getting others to fix our problems, instead of focusing on fixing them ourselves. As I learn more and more about how other people live in the world, and how so many of us are preoccupied with how we consume life and what others think about us, I start to see more and more truth in this song. In my opinion, this isn’t a good thing.

However, don’t get me wrong. It’s not all gloom and doom for me. I do believe that most people don’t live their lives like this. For the most part, we haven’t got to a point where we don’t care about each other and we’re completely materialistic. But it is something to be wary of.

-S

 

 

One thought on “Day 5: A song that has a new meaning to you every time you hear it

  1. Pingback: 30 Day Song Challenge: Begin! | A Fandom of its Own

Leave a Reply

