Day 15: A song people wouldn’t expect you to like

Hopefully you’ve seen over the past fourteen days that my choice in music is fairly eclectic. So, this is a bit of a hard day for me as I can’t really think of a song that would surprise people. Instead, I focused on genre, and picked a song from three genres that either have a bad reputation, or people of my age wouldn’t usually listen to. These three genres are country, rap, and classical.

My first song, and the country representative, is none other than Kenny Rogers’ ‘The Gambler’. I really like the flow of the story in this song, and all of the metaphors used. It gets stuck in your head so easily, too!

Moving onto (Korean) rap, I have ‘HOLUP!’ by iKON’s Bobby. I don’t listen to rap in English, because I think I pay too much attention to the words. However, rap in a language I don’t understand allows me to focus on the sounds, rhythm, and melody, which leads me to enjoying it more. I really like Bobby’s distinct voice, and how upbeat the song is!

Finally, my inclusion for classical music is one of my favourites of Vivaldi’s ‘The Four Seasons’; Winter’s Allegro non molto movement. The Baroque period is probably my favourite of the classical periods, with its flashy improvisation and tonality. I love the way this song takes me on a journey as I listen to it!

Did you expect me to like all of these songs?

-S

One thought on “Day 15: A song people wouldn’t expect you to like

  1. Pingback: 30 Day Song Challenge: Begin! | A Fandom of its Own

Leave a Reply

